ROTHERHAM BOROUGH COUNCIL - REPORT TO MEMBERS

1.	Meeting:	Standards Committee		
2.	Date:	14 th March 2013		
3.	Title:	Update from the Monitoring Officer – Ballot of Parish Councils, Dispensations and the Report of the Committee on Standards in Public Life, Standards Matter		
4.	Directorate:	Resources		

5. Summary

To update the Committee in respect of the ballot of Parish Councils, dispensations from the Code of Conduct that have been granted, to make determinations in respect of two requests for dispensations and to consider the report Standards Matter.

6. Recommendation

That the Committee notes the report in respect of the ballot of Parish Councils and the dispensations granted, determines the applications for dispensations from Cllrs Jarvis and Richardson and considers the report Standards Matter.

7. Proposals and Details

Ballot of Parish Councils

The result of the ballot of Parish Councils to appoint three representatives to the Standards Committee is attached at <u>Appendix A</u>. The members are appointed to serve for a period of four years (unless they should previously cease to be a Parish Councillor). The Committee will wish to welcome Councillors David Rowley, Dennis Bates and Richard Swann as co-opted, voting members.

Dispensations

The Monitoring Officer has, in accordance with the Localism Act 2011, the Code of Conduct and the powers delegated by the Council, authority to grant dispensations from the Code of Conduct in the certain circumstances including:—

- where without the dispensation the number of persons prohibited from participating in any particular business would be so great a proportion of the body transacting the business as to impede the transaction of the business.

In accordance with that delegated power the following dispensations have been granted:-

Date	То	Council	Duration	Nature of Dispensation
28.1.2013	All	RMBC	4 years	To participate in the discussion and
	Members			vote in respect of –
				 housing rents, garage rents, cooking gas, communal facilities charges and heating charges; district heating scheme charges; and setting council tax or a precept under the Local Government Finance Act 1992
30.1.2013	Cllr Daines	Thorpe	2 years	To participate in the discussion and
	& Cllr Hays	Salvin		vote in respect of:-
		P.C		- wind turbines, Clay Pit Lane

The Committee has the authority to grant a dispensation where:-

- a) the representation of different political groups on the body transacting the business would be so upset as to alter the likely outcome of any vote;
- b) granting the dispensation is in the interests of persons living within the authority's area; or
- c) the Committee considers that it is otherwise appropriate to grant a dispensation.

In the following requests for dispensation have been made:-

Cllr G Jarvis of Anston Parish Council

Cllr Jarvis rents an allotment from Anston Parish Council. Cllr Jarvis has correctly recorded this corporate tenancy as a disclosable pecuniary interest upon his register of interests. As a result of this disclosable pecuniary interest Cllr Jarvis is no longer able to remain in the Parish Council meetings to discuss matters relating to allotments. Cllr Jarvis has requested a dispensation to allow him to remain in any Parish Council meetings to discuss the issue, but not to vote.

The Committee is asked to consider whether in accordance with the catergories listed above, to grant a dispensation from the Code of Conduct to Cllr Jarvis to allow him to participate in discussion relating to allotments and, if appropriate, to determine the duration of that dispensation (which may not exceed 4 years)

Cllr M Richardson - Maltby Town Council

Cllr M Richardson, Vice Chairman of Maltby Town Council has requested a dispensation from the Code of Conduct to enable him to participate in, but not vote upon, discussions in respect of bowling.

Cllr Richardson has disclosed in his register of interests that he is a member of or in a position of general control or management of a crown green bowling club. This is an "Appendix B" interest in accordance with the National Association of Local Councils Code of Conduct (which has been adopted by Maltby Town Council). Therefore Cllr Richardson may not vote on that matter and may only speak if members of the public are also allowed to speak at the meeting. The Clerk has confirmed that the matter would be considered in the open part of the meeting where then public are not allowed to speak.

The Committee is asked to consider whether in accordance with the catergories listed above, to grant a dispensation from the Code of Conduct to Cllr Richardson to allow him to participate in discussion relating to bowling and, if appropriate, determine the duration of that dispensation (which may not exceed 4 years)

Standards Matter – the report of the Committee on Standards in Public Life

The Committee on Standards in Public Life produced a report, Standards Matter, a review of best practice in promoting good behaviour in public life, which is attached at <u>Appendix B</u>. The Committee is asked to consider the report and determine whether there are any implications for ethical standards within the Borough.

8. Finance

None

9. Risks and Uncertainties

As contained in the report.

10. Policy and Performance Agenda Implications

None

11. Background Papers and Consultation

None

Contact Name: Jacqueline Collins, Director, Legal and Democratic Services

Tel: 255768

Email: jacqueline.collins@rotherham.gov.uk

Appendix A

FROM: CHRIS PILKINGTON

DEPUTY CHIEF OFFICER

YORKSHIRE LOCAL COUNCILS ASSOCIATIONS

Dear Jacqueline Collins,

The ballot to elect three parish representatives to the Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council has now been concluded and am pleased to announce that the result of the ballot (in which nine different councils voted) was as follows:

- Cllr David Rowley (Ravenfield Parish Council) 7 votes
- Cllr Dennis Bates (Thrybergh Parish Council) 4 votes
- Cllr John Richard Swann (Woodsetts Parish Council) 4 votes
- Cllr John T Ireland (Anston Parish Council) 3 votes
- Cllr Peter Harold Blanksby (Wales Parish Council) 1 vote
- Cllr Edwin George Bowmar (Wickersley Parish Council) 1 vote
- Cllr Tim Chapman (Dinnington St John's Town Council) no votes

Cllrs Rowley, Bates and Swann are thereby elected to the standards committee.

Yours sincerely

Chris Pilkington

Yorkshire Local Councils Associations York House Outgang Lane Osbaldwick YORK YO19 5UP

Tel: 01904 436622

Email: admin@yorkshirelca.gov.uk Website: www.yorkshirelca.gov.uk

This transmission is confidential for the sole use of the addressee(s). If received in error, please notify us immediately and delete it. Any disclosure, reproduction, modification or publication of this transmission without prior written consent is strictly prohibited. Any views indicated are solely those of the author and, unless expressly confirmed, not those of Yorkshire Local Councils Associations.